RSS

Pardon the Interruption

22 Jun

I guess we’re working backwards, but it’s really messing us up nonetheless. We’re still uncertain as to what the Lord is stirring us into; however, you are welcomed into the journey.

We started with 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker; and now, Heidi and I have jumped into her previous book, Interrupted: An Adventure in Relearning the Essentials of Faith (The Kindle Edition is only $1.99 on Amazon).

Below, I’ve typed out a section you need to read.

“May intentional servanthood be the basis of all mission, all benevolence, all evangelism, all sacrifice. I dream of a church that is once again called great, even by our skeptics, because our works of mercy cannot be denied. I want no part in a movement that is deemed great because we’ve adopted some exceptional qualities admired by the top.

I don’t want to be known for a great band.

I don’t want to be admired for a great campus.

I don’t want to be recognized for a great marketing campaign.

I don’t want to be praised for great programming.

I don’t want to be applauded for great theology and scholarship.

I want the church to be great because we fed hungry mommas and their babies. I’d like to be great because we battled poverty with not just our money but our hands and hearts. I desire the greatness that comes from not just seeking mercy but justice for those caught in a system with trapdoors. I hope to be part of a great movement of the Holy Spirit, who injects supernatural wind and fire into His mission. My version of great will come when others are scratching their heads and saying, ‘Wow, you live a really different life?’ –Jen Hatmaker

Still learning,

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Discipleship

 

3 responses to “Pardon the Interruption

  1. gibby espinoza

    June 22, 2012 at 12:14 PM

    Dude, this struck straight through the heart. Right on!!

     
  2. Julie Kiser

    June 22, 2012 at 12:27 PM

    I’m telling you, she sticks a knife in you and then kind of twists it around, doesn’t she? When I heard her speak earlier this spring in Dallas I left forever changed. She speaks the power of the Spirit and it sure does make you squirm, doesn’t it?

     
  3. Morgan Bush

    June 22, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    !!!

     

Would you share your perspective?

 
